Thanksgiving: The Other 1/2 Of The Word

Well, here it is again.

Yep.  The holidays.  They’re upon us.

I’m a holiday fanatic.  I love, LOVE the holiday season.  I love the time off.  I love the time spent with family and friends.  I love the food. I love the festiveness.  As a Christian I love the focus on the birth of our savior Christ Jesus.

And I love that it all starts with Thanksgiving.  I’ve written often about gratitude and posted many articles on social media relating to how beneficial gratitude is for our health. (For a recent article on how gratitude affects the brain, click HERE ).  Then there’s the 30 day Thankfulness challenge we always see on social media every year.  The truth is, if we all focused on being grateful all year long (not just for 30 days), it would have amazing, and infinitely positive effects on our brain, in our relationships, in our day to day living, and on our souls.

But today, let’s focus briefly on the other 1/2 of the word.  Thanks-GIVING.  Sure, the easy out is to say well it’s about GIVING thanks.  But I think there’s more there, there.  I want to challenge us as a people to focus on the GIVING .  Not just in the weeks heading up to Thanksgiving, but as a lifestyle. What would happen if instead of just giving thanks….we instead would just GIVE?

I’m willing to bet that we’d find that the rewards go far beyond just giving thanks.  If all of us would take time every day to ask, “Where can I be a giver today?”, we would change our immediate circle of influence, meaning our family and closest friends.  Think of the example that would set for our closest associations.  What if just a small percentage of those folks, impacted by your giving, took the torch and ran with it because of what you did?  Do you see the power in that?  Especially if it’s not just as season in your life that happens every November?

I promise you, if you focus on giving, you’ll have even more to be thankful for all around you. But don’t do it for that reason.  Do it because you can.  Because it’s right.

So give it a whirl in your life.  Focus on the “other” 1/2 of ThanksGIVING!

Enjoy your holidays friends.  I wish you peace.

Dr. Bruce

Leave a Reply

